Posted on

Una corrida de toros


Hey readers,

This post contains just a couple photos of Maya’s and my first bullfight. We had some exciting expectations going into it. Bullfights are considered a sport, an art form and a cultural spectacle in Spain. Yes, less and less Spanish citizens agree with it, but Maya and I wanted to experience a centuries-old tradition and get to know this wonderful country just a little bit better.

The reason there aren’t as many photos as usual is because I didn’t feel comfortable posting them. Bullfights are graphic and violent, and I was shocked by the reality of it. As Americans, we are raised to believe this kind of thing is wrong. Therefore, it was hard to accept that what I saw was once considered a very popular past time.

Six bulls came out to fight three matadors (two bulls for each one). A collection of detailed movements, quick thinking and fearlessness results in a dead bull and a cheering crowd. Dont’get me wrong–there is much more to learn about bullfights. Signs of bravery, triumph, strength and pride are prevalent throughout the process, which bullfight-goers recognize and understand. For us, it was a little too much to grasp.

As Americans, we’re simply not used to the graphic nature of it all. Maya and I viewed it as an unjust fight and killing of an animal for sport. Yes, this is not the Spanish mindset we should have used, but it was hard to ignore. We stayed for all six bulls and are very proud of ourselves for doing so, but probably won’t go back. For the record, it really was a fascinating and intriguing experience, and one I will surely remember for a long time.We’re happy to say we experienced this side of Spain, and don’t regret it.

Tomorrow, we are headed to Segovia for a day trip! We’re both excited to see the famous aquaduct.

Have a good weekend,
Maddy

One response to “Una corrida de toros

  1. I was at that bull fight too and my friend and I felt exaclty the same way. It was so difficult to watch yet at the same time with it being a Spanish tradition you felt obliged to!

Leave a comment