Posted on

Girona, I love you, but your WiFi sucks.

In today’s edition of SU Broads Abroad, some more updates for y’all–pending the cooperation of the shoddy wifi in this hotel’s lobby (I am highly aware I probably look like a crazy person hunched over my laptop trying to bang out this blog post before our next seminar of the day)!

We’re in the middle of a lovely three day, two night stay in the northeastern Spanish town of Gerona. Unlike the coastal Tarragona, Gerona (or Girona) is actually kind of urban. Last night we settled in and went out to dinner at a restaurant down the street. Little did we know when we got there that we were in for a six-course feast–the first course was this toast we made ourselves. Apparently it’s a Catalonian thing—you rub garlic all over a piece of bread, and then rub a smooshed a tomato on top (the tomato mush we were wondering about yesterday in Tarragona), the second course was an antipasti salad, the third course was melted provolone cheese you ate with your fork, the fourth course was chicken croquettes with bread with roasted vegetables on it, the fifth course was grilled fish, or steak, or chicken, or sausage, and the sixth course was a kind of crème brulee like dessert called Crème de Catalonia).

Today we got up, had breakfast, and listened to a lecture about Medieval Spain. Not the most exciting thing in the world, but it was followed by a walking tour of parts of the city, including a trip to the section of the city where the Jewish ghetto existed during the 14th century Reconquista period, a trip to a gorgeous cathedral in the center of the city, and a quick stop at an Arabian bath house, which actually was nothing like an Arabian bath house except that it had baths in it.

After this, we settled in for lunch and the daily siesta. I think the siesta is one of the coolest parts of Spanish culture. It would never fly in the American business mentality—every day at 2, shops/businesses/restaurants close for a couple hours. People go home, eat their lunch, enjoy themselves, maybe take a nap. People in Spain work to live, and Americans live to work (and would be baffled by the idea of actually closing shop and losing hours and business to go home and rest). I don’t know though, the siesta is pretty cool. Spain’s got it right. My school schedule pretty much negates it a couple days a week when I have classes, but it’s nice to observe it now in the summer. Today we ate at a “bistro” restaurant, which was really nice—every meal we’ve eaten out so far has had multiple courses and dessert. If this is what I have to look forward to until December, I’m okay with it.

Some random observations:

  • Coca-Cola tastes better here because it’s made with cane sugar. And also because it’s served out of a bottle.
  • Girls everywhere here wear these weird, patterned, tapered, floaty, long pants. I don’t think I will be caught dead wearing them while I’m here, but who knows? I wore a pair of Victoria’s Secret yoga pants in public for upwards of 36 consecutive hours earlier this week and I don’t hate myself for it yet.
  • Spain’s balance of modernity and tradition (cars driving on narrow, cobblestone streets) is fascinating. Also a little scary. I wonder what they think when they come to Pennsylvania and see an Amish horse and buggy driving on a highway built for cars.
  • It’s really refreshing not having to leave a tip for your server. Imagine if they paid waiters in America a living wage.

Tomorrow we’re off to Barcelona. I couldn’t be more excited about anything other than this occasionally crazy life I’m living.

XOXO (is this universal?)

Maya

Leave a comment